The 34th International Workshop on Combinatorial Algorithms (IWOCA 2023) will be held in the Magic School of Green Technologies in National Cheng Kung University, Tainan, Taiwan during 7-10 June 2023

IWOCA 2023 will be a hybrid conference with both online and onsite participants.
Authors of accepted papers are expected to give an onsite talk or an online talk.

The topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following:

  • Algorithms and Data Structures
  • Complexity Theory
  • Graph Theory & Combinatorics
  • Combinatorial Optimization
  • Cryptography & Information Security
  • Algorithms on Strings & Graphs
  • Graph Drawing & Labelling
  • Computational Algebra & Geometry
  • Computational Biology
  • Algorithms for Big Data and Networks Analytics
  • Probabilistic & Randomised Algorithms
  • New Paradigms of Computation
  • Experimental Evaluation of Algorithms
  • Distributed and Parallel Algorithms
  • Mobile Agents
  • Algorithmic Game Theory
  • Circuits and Boolean Functions
  • Approximation Algorithms
  • Parameterized and Exact Algorithms
  • Online Algorithms
  • Streaming Algorithms
  • Ad Hoc, Dynamic and Evolving Networks
  • Foundations of Cloud Computing

Conference proceedings will be published in the ARCoSS subline of the Springer “Lecture Notes in Computer Science” series.
Papers of high quality will be invited to special issues of “Journal of Computer and System Sciences” and “Theoretical Computer Science”, devoted to IWOCA 2023.


Awards will be given to the best paper and the best student paper. To be eligible for the best student paper award, at least one of the paper authors must be a full-time student at the time of submission, and the student(s) must have made a significant contribution to the paper. The program committee may decline to make these awards or may split them.

Submission instructions

Authors are invited to submit high-quality manuscripts reporting original unpublished research in the topics related to the symposium. Simultaneous submission to other conferences or workshops with published proceedings is not allowed. It is required that each accepted paper be presented at the conference by one of its authors.

Submissions must be in the form of a single pdf file prepared using the LNCS latex templates and style files. Springer’s proceedings LaTeX templates are also available on Overleaf. Springer’s authors’ guidelines may be consulted here.

Each submission should consist of the main part of the paper, not exceeding 12 pages (including the title page and excluding the references), plus an optional clearly marked appendix (to be read at the discretion of the program committee). Any figure pertaining to the main part of the paper should be included therein (within the 12 page limit). The first page must include an indication of whether the paper is eligible for the best student paper award.

Papers are to be submitted electronically through EasyChair at the following link:


Important dates

  • Abstract submission: 20 January 2023 (AoE) 27 January 2023 (AoE) 6 February 2023 (AoE 23:59) 13 February 2023 (AoE 23:59) (Final extension)
  • Paper submission: 25 January 2023 (AoE) 2 February 2023 (AoE) 6 February 2023 (AoE 23:59) 13 February 2023 (AoE 23:59) (Final extension)
  • Notification to authors: 27 March 2023
  • Camera-ready submission: 10 April 2023
  • Symposium: 7-10 June 2023

Steering Committee

  • Maria Chudnovsky, Princeton University, USA
  • Henning Fernau, Universität Trier, Germany
  • Costas Iliopoulos, King’s College London, UK
  • Ralf Klasing, CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France
  • Wing-Kin (Ken) Sung, National University of Singapore, Singapore

Program Chairs

  • Ling-Ju Hung, National Taipei University of Business, Taiwan
  • Chia-Wei Lee, National Taitung University, Taiwan

Program Committee

  • Matthias Bentert, TU Berlin, Germany
  • Hans-Joachim Böckenhauer, ETH Zurich, Department of Computer Science, Switzerland
  • Jou-Ming Chang, National Taipei University of Business, Taiwan
  • Chi-Yeh Chen, National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan
  • Ho-Lin Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Li-Hsuan Chen, National Taipei University of Business, Taiwan
  • Po-An Chen, National Yang Ming Chiao Tung University, Taiwan
  • Eddie Cheng, Oakland University, USA
  • Thomas Erlebach, Durham University, UK
  • Henning Fernau, Universität Trier, Germany
  •  Florent Foucaud, LIMOS – Université Clermont Auvergne, France
  • Wing-Kai Hon, National Tsing Hua University, Taiwan
  • Juraj Hromkovič, ETH Zurich, Department of Computer Science, Switzerland
  • Mong-Jen Kao, National Yang-Ming Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
  • Ralf Klasing, CNRS and University of Bordeaux, France
  • Tomasz Kociumaka, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany
  • Christian Komusiewicz, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany
  • Dominik Köppl, Tokyo Medical and Dental University, Japan
  • Rastislav  Královic, Comenius University, Slovakia
  • Van Bang Le, Universität Rostock, Germany
  • Thierry Lecroq, University of Rouen Normandy, France
  • Chung-Shou Liao, National Tsing Hua University, Hsinchu, Taiwan
  • Limei Lin, Fujian Normal University, China
  • Hsiang-Hsuan Liu, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
  • Hendrik Molter, Ben-Gurion University of The Negev, Israel
  • Tobias Mömke, University of Augsburg, Germany
  • Martin Nöllenburg, Vienna University of Technology, Austria
  • Aris Pagourtzis, National Technical University of Athens, Greece
  • Tomasz Radzik, King’s College London, UK
  • M. Sohel Rahman, Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, Bangladesh
  • Adele Rescigno, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Peter Rossmanith, RWTH Aachen University, Germany
  • Kunihiko Sadakane, The University of Tokyo, Japan
  • Paul Spirakis, University of Liverpool, UK
  • Meng-Tsung Tsai, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
  • Shi-Chun Tsai, National Yang-Ming Chiao-Tung University, Taiwan
  • Ugo Vaccaro, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Tomoyuki Yamakami, University of Fukui, Japan
  • Hsu-Chun Yen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
  • Christos Zaroliagis, CTI and University of Patras, Greece
  • Guochuan Zhang, Zhejiang University, China